AI Awards Night

Honoring Academic Integrity @ UC San Diego: Scholars, Students & Scholarship

Wednesday, April 18th, 2012
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Location: TBA

Award Information – Nominations

Faculty Award – for a faculty member who has contributed significantly to academic integrity (on campus or in the larger, international arena) through at least one of the following: research (on academic integrity or related areas such as ethics, character education), teaching (e.g., talking about academic integrity in the classroom, teaching about professional integrity), and service (e.g., Academic Integrity Review Board; Academic Integrity Office Advisory Council; Committee on Educational Policies)

Best Syllabus Award – for the syllabus or class academic integrity policy that best explains academic integrity and/or cheating. The “Best Syllabus” will normally include: details/examples about what is considered cheating in that class; explanations of why academic integrity is important (in general, but also to that class and that professor); points students to resources; and, a student pledge (to sign).

AI Ally Award – for a campus member or organization (e.g., student organization, staff member, campus department) who supports academic integrity through activities or service and surpasses expectations because academic integrity is not a job or organization requirement.

Student Award – for a student or alumnus, who has contributed significantly to creating a culture of academic integrity through the volunteering of their time and energies (e.g., Peer Educator, AIM member, AIRB member) AND/OR by exhibiting courage in speaking up against cheating, stopping peers from cheating, or reporting cheating in the classroom.


Nominate who you think deserves an award (self nominations are welcome)!

Email your award nominations (with award name in subject line) to


Click here to download the nomination form.

Check AIM out on Facebook. Search: “AIM: Academic Integrity Matters”


Past Winners

Patrick Patterson (History) – Syllabus Award
(not pictured)

Michael G. Anderson (Physics) – Faculty Award

Julie Nguyen & Nancy Pham – Student Award

UCSD Libraries (Marlo Young on behalf of the libraries) – Ally Award


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: